picprojects.net Forum

picprojects.net Forum
It is currently Thu Jun 21, 2018 3:48 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: A Newbie's Guide to PIC18F2682 LVP (with your help!)
PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2016 12:48 am 

Hello everyone!

Background
I have a PIC18F2682 and I am very new to microcontrollers. I am using Arch Linux. I know the general idea is to write some code in C, have it compiled by something like SDCC, generate some hex code, and finally, upload the code to the microcontroller through the programmer.

I chose to use the low-voltage programmer (LVP). http://picpgm.picprojects.net/hardware. ... PROGRAMMER

What I did
I did this because I had similar components lying around. I have a laptop with a parallel port and I had a hex inverter (HD74LS04P) which I substituted for the hex inverter specified in the LVP (74ALS05D). I also replaced the BC557 PNP transistor with a C9015 PNP transistor. I used 5% tolerance, 1/4 watt resistors. I have a male parallel port connector and I soldered 25 wires to the side that was not meant to plug into the laptop. I used wires 2, 3, 4, 5, and 10 to plug into the inverters.

What I am confused about

Only wires 18-25 in the image below are grounded. Only wires 2, 3, 4, 5, and 10 are used for signaling. What happens to the rest? Do I just leave them floating? If I short them together to pins 18-25 (at ground potential), will that cause problems?

Some people elsewhere online have mentioned that I must do something special to specify LVP programming mode and I might risk corrupting firmware. Is this true? What do I have to do to just get it all to work?

I've also noticed, in the troubleshooting section located here http://picpgm.picprojects.net/troubleshooting.html, that capacitors are to be placed in the path from VDD to the actual positive side of the power supply. Is this really necessary?